T20 Asia Blaze launched for 2017

The Eliiott Davis T20 Asia Blaze 2017 competition was launched on 27th April with presence from the organisers London Tigers, Capital Kids Cricket, Elliott Davis and the representatives of each team competing: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, England, India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

Before the draw, Mr. Salim Yasin. the owner of  headline sponsor, Elliott Davis Properties, thanked London Tigers and Capital Kids Cricket for the fantastic initiatives which saw huge interest since it launched in 2014. He also thanked Essex Cricket Board for their continuous support which inspires many young people.

London Tigers and Capital Kids Cricket came together with the support of the England and Wales Cricket Board, Middlesex Cricket Board and Essex Cricket Board to initiate the T20 Asian Blaze competition in 2014. Each country is represented by UK-based British Asian players with one professional player in each team.

“We would like to thank Elliot Davis Properties for their ongoing support,” said Shahidul Alam Ratan, one of the co-leaders behind the competition. He also explained,  eligibility of the players: Age limit – minimum 6 under 19, maximum 3 under 21, maximum 2 under 25 can play each game and out of 2 one will be allowed over 25 if he is first class player.

The second co-founder, Jawar Ali, explained the concept of the competition. He encouraged each team to get at least one first class player to guide young players and inspire them and added, “The East London squad of the ECB City Cup will be picked from this competition. We want to create a pathway through this competition so that young players can play higher levels. We will set up MVP (most valuable player) in each game and this will be a selection criteria.”


The teams are selected and managed by different league organisers and clubs who are heavily linked with the representative community groups. Team organisers are:

  • Afghanistan: Afghan Association Paiwand / London Zalmi
  • Bangladesh:  London Tigers
  • England: Wanstead Cricket Club
  • India: National Cricket league
  • Pakistan: Elliot Davis London Cricket League
  • Sri Lanka: Middlesex County Sunday Cricket League


The games will be played in 2 groups in a league basis. Top two teams from each group will be playing semi-finals. League games will be held at Hainault Recreation ground.

The games will be held on Tuesdays 9th, 16th  and 23rd May 2017.

Date Group A Group B
9th May England Vs Afghanistan Pakistan Vs Sri Lanka
16th May England Vs Bangladesh India Vs Pakistan
23rd May Afghanistan Vs Bangladesh Sri Lanka Vs India



Print | PDF
Related Articles